Skip to content

holy effing crap cookies…

10 December, 2009

Damn. Seriously?

What’s wrong Dan? What’s your deal today?

I’ll tell you…it’s two things. The cold and HR training- Zone 1 specifically.

First, yes I know it gets this cold every year. And yes, during Pam’s winter break I take CTA transportation…so I’ve been out in it. Running in weather this cold? Today was a first for me. I was bundled up in 5 layers, including my trusty hoodie. In the email exchange this morning with Coach Jen I realized I need contacts again. I either run with glasses, and they fog up or I run with out and can’t see crap! Jen mentioned getting a bellaclava…a full coverage hat/face mask. When I go to Runners High ‘n Tri this week, I’m going to get one!

Second, HR training just got real. Today’s run was 30 minutes in Zone 1…which is damn near a freaking walk. I figured it would be a little tough…yeah, I underestimated it a bit. Wow.

But overall, it was a good morning. Getting a full night of sleep is wonderful! Yeah Dan, duh…

I’ll end and ask…any other cold weather tips, besides a bellaclava, I should know about?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 December, 2009 8:36 am

    I don’t remember what the technology is called, but Mizuno makes a fabric that actually heats up when you sweat. It’s something about how the moisture is absorbed into the fabric and activates a heating material when wet. It’s pretty cool–I love mine for days like this. Plus, they make gloves and hates out of the same stuff, too. I’ll see if I can remember what it’s called and let you know.

    Oh…and there’s always the treadmill for this kind of nonsense, too.

    And you’re not the only one who has to walk in Z1.

    • 10 December, 2009 8:42 am

      Barb- that’d be awesome!

      I’m thinking I may need another layer for my legs. It wasn’t bad…but I cold feel the cold a bit.

      I know…Jen said she ‘prefers outside 99% of the time, but sometimes we have to be safe’…for the that 1% a treadmill is ok!

  2. 11 December, 2009 8:18 am

    Maybe some tights for the legs?

    Underarmor makes “cold gear” that feels SUPER warm. The idea is to keep you warm when it’s cold out, and it certainly works. It’s a bit pricey, though. (Although you can always just buy one and do lots of laundry — I end up doing that for running gear often!)

    • 11 December, 2009 7:30 pm

      Lauren- I’m thinking tights. I got my new jacket today, so stoked to run with it! I need a better hat…I balked at the mask I saw at runners High ‘n Tri and I regret it.

      I have one outfit basically, and I wash it a lot too! lol!

  3. 15 December, 2009 8:45 pm

    hey! not sure if you’ll see this cause i guess the post was a while ago.. but if you have time check out Beth Shutt’s blog (she’s on jen’s blog roll) she just did a post on cold weather running.. no gear advice but some other great tips!! good luck .. ha ha thats coming from north carolina where “cold” is 35.

Leave a Reply

